My shot at free expert level training from SQLSkills

There is only one reason for this post – To immerse myself in the SQLSkills training giveaway “Master Immersion on Internals and Performance” on SQL Server and meet both Paul and Kimberly (the people behind SQLSkills) in person. You can read the complete details here. A few days ago, I saw Paul’s Tweet about a giveaway of one of their immersion classes and that got me really excited and here we are with this blog post which was one of the requirements for entering into the drawing.

I follow @PaulRandal and @KimberlyLTripp on Twitter. I have known Paul and Kimberly for quite some time now but as much as I hate to break it to you, they don’t know me! I have even interacted with them and still they may not know me. I am no SQL rock star (no offense @SQLRockStar) for them to know me! I am just @SQLJana. If you are a SQL Server professional and if you do not know this power couple of the SQL world, I have to give it to you; you are in your own world….I certainly would love to smoke some of what you are smoking.

Our partitioning process on Oracle is somewhat mature and generic but when I was looking to do something similar in SQL Server quite some time back, all searches led me to Kimberly’s whitepaper on partitioning in SQL Server 2005. At the time, there was nothing as cohesive on the subject as that white paper (and sadly, it still is the case today) although the whitepaper is still as relevant today as it was years ago when Kimberly first wrote it for the beta of SQL Server 2005!

Anyway, I used the information to build the generic partitioning framework to partition any SQL Server table on any data type (no, please don’t ask me how to partition on VARCHAR(MAX) or VARBINARY(MAX), direct it to Kimberly instead 😉 ). The framework will let you partition on multiple columns although SQL Server does not natively support it. That was only possible because of the whitepaper.

Just as Kimberly did, I wanted to share the knowledge that I gained from the experience. In the process, I wanted to do a presentation to my local user-group on “partitioning in SQL Server” and did not want to recreate all the wonderful and very illustrative pictures and they had put together in their white-paper. So, skeptically, I asked them if I could “use” the pictures (as in: as-is, verbatim, copy, steal but not plagiarize) in my presentation. I immediately got a response back from Paul saying, “go ahead”. No if’s or but’s. It is needless to say that I did the presentation to my wonderful local user group and then on several SQL Saturday’s always staring the session without fail by thanking them for the pictures and saying: “they could pretend that my presentation never happened and that they will be okay if they could just remember the URL SQLSkills.com that hosts the white paper ”. Among other references, almost the only take away my SQL Saturday sessions at Charlotte, Raleigh, DC and NYC had for the audience was for them to remember the URL SQLSkills.com. I have also sumbitted the “partitioning” session for SQLRally 2011 at Orlando in May with another session titled “Bend SQL to your will”. As a side note, please vote for my session.

From being a database/application architect, I am transitioning on Monday 01/24 to an Oracle/SQL Server DBA role within my own organization. I just did a blog on that. The timing of the immersion series to learn the internals from the masters could not have come at a better time for me. Also, I am currently building a tool for Oracle and SQL Server which could benefit from me knowing the internals and help me be successful in my job. One day, I plan to share that tool too when it gets to a stable point. So, I would really appreciate it if you pick me and irrespective of who you pick, I thank you for giving away a seat. Also, thank you for creating and sharing the MCM videos.

4 thoughts on “My shot at free expert level training from SQLSkills

Leave a Reply

